Thursday, August 5, 2021
HomeSportsAurélie Rivard leads Canada's swimming contingent at Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Video games |...

Aurélie Rivard leads Canada’s swimming contingent at Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Video games | CBC Sports activities

Canada may have 19 swimmers hitting the beginning blocks on the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Video games. 

On Thursday, The Canadian Paralympic Committee and Swimming Canada introduced Canada’s roster for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Video games, led by Aurélie Rivard, Canada’s flag bearer on the Rio 2016 Closing Ceremony. 

The 25-year-old captured 4 medals in Rio, together with three gold and one silver. 

Three different members of the Tokyo squad additionally made huge waves on the final Paralympic Video games: Katarina Roxon captured gold, Tess Routliffe took a silver and Nicolas-Man Turbide snagged a bronze. 

“Understanding that I am on the Paralympic staff and representing Canada is much more rewarding after a protracted 12 months of uncertainty,” mentioned Rivard. “It has been a number of exhausting work to get right here, and I am unable to wait to get out and compete in Tokyo and see what I can do.”

Medal-winning roster

A complete of 12 swimmers are getting back from the Rio 2016 staff. Whereas seven athletes might be making their Paralympic Video games debut, together with world championship medalists Shelby Newkirk and Aly Van Wyck-Good in addition to Lima 2019 Parapan Am Video games medalists Nicholas Bennett and Angela Marina.

“No matter what number of instances I get nominated to the Canadian Paralympic Staff to characterize our nation, it all the time feels new and thrilling!” mentioned Roxon, who might be making her fourth Video games’ look, having debuted as a 15-year-old at Beijing 2008.

This roster produced 14 medals (two gold, seven silver, and 5 bronze) on the largest most up-to-date competitors, the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships.

Canada’s Para Swimming Staff

Nicholas Bennett – Parksville, B.C.
Camille Bérubé – Gatinue, Que. 
Morgan Hen – Calgary. Alta.
Matthew Cabraja Brampton, Ont. 
Tammy Cunnington – Crimson Deer, Alta.
Danielle Dorris – Moncton, N.B.
Sabrina Duchesne St-Agustin-de-Desmaures, Que.
Alec Elliot – Kitchener, Ont.
Nikita Ens – Meadow Lake, Sask. 
James Leroux – Repentigny, Que.
Angela Marina – Cambridge, Ont.
Shelby Newkirk – Saskatoon, Sask.
Aurélie Rivard – St-Jean-sur Richelieu, Que.
Tess Routliffe – Caledon, Ont.
Katarina Roxon – Kippens, N.L.
Abi Tripp – Kingston, Ont. 
Nicolas-Man Turbide – Quebec Metropolis
Aly Van Wyck-Good – Toronto
Zach Zona – Waterford, Ont.


Supply hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments